Inter-school Art Competition on Environment in schools held, Results announced


Devi Balika Vidyalaya bagged several prizes in the Inter-School Art competition, organized by the Colombo Plan in collaboration with Ananda College on 26 June 2018. The competition was organized to spread  the message on Environment and Climate Change, particularly to promote “One Child-One Tree campaign”, a new programme launched during the 67th Anniversary of the Colombo Plan on 29th June 2018.

The art competition was organized in collaboration with the Zonal Directorate of Education and Ananda College on 26th June 2018 from 2-5 pm.  The key theme of the competition was “ Me and my Environment” which was attended by 17 schools.

DSC_0377Her Excellency Ambassador Dr. Phan Kieu Thu, Secretary General of the Colombo Plan addressed the closing ceremony at Ananda College and distributed Certificate of participation. The winners are awarded their prizes during the 67th Anniversary celebration of the Colombo Plan on 29 June 2018 at Gall Face Hotel at 7 pm.

The list of prize winners under Bronze, Silver and Gold Category are given below:


Bronze (Grade 6-8):

1st Prize:  TUWINI MANTHULI MAPULANA, (Devi Balika Vidyalaya)

2nd Prize: P. PRABHAVI SUPUNSARA SENARATHNA (Devi Balika School)

3rd Prize: SUHIL NIRMAL BANDARA (Ananda College)


Silver (Grade 9-11):

1st Prize:  VISHVA B. BOGAHAWATHTHA (Royal College)

2nd Prize: DEVNI PABASARIE ADIKARAM (Devi Balika Vidyalaya)

3rd Prize: SARINDA .D. ABEYNAIKE (St. Thomas’s Preparatory School)


Gold (Grade 12-13):

1st Prize:  W.A. KAVEESHA KAVIMINI WEERASINGHE (Devi Baliga Vidyalaya)

2nd Prize: M.DANUSHI THAKSHILA MUNASINGHE (Devi Balika Vidyalaya)

3rd Prize: L.A. DINUKA SENEVIRATHNE(Royal College)


Special Appreciation Awards:

The Colombo Plan will be also providing “Special Recognition Awards” including a Certificate and a Gift Voucher, for a second list of art works which too excelled in quality and message. They are:


  1. Kalana Priyaman Meddawaththa (Defence Service College)
  2. Janathan Anandappa ( St. Benedict’s College)
  3. Sarah Muduglle ( Bishops College)
  4. Dunithi Liuwanuwa ( Musaeuse College)
  5. P. Sanuri Akithama (Good Shephered Convent)
  6. H.D.T.P Alwis ( St. Thomas Preparatory School)
  7. G.L.J. Senaya (Holy Family Convent)
  8. Mithaki De Silva ( Musaeuse College )
  9. T. Daushan (Hindu College)
  10. Shavindi Theekshana (Good Shepherd Convent)
  11. W.A. Udanchanjula (Ananda College)
  12. H.P.Senura Nethranjana Silva (De La Salle College)
  13. Anchintha Indunil (Ananda College)
  14. Sithumi Tharunika Kumarage (Musaeuse College

Press release issued from Colombo Plan Secretariat.

Notice of Art Competition

Copyright © 2011 The Colombo Plan Secretariat. All Rights Reserved. | Privacy policy | Terms | Contact | Site Map | Home